Close this search box.

Trucking’s Top Rookie for 2019 is . . .

Listen to the article:

This year’s Great American Trucking Show has come and gone. One of the many featured events at this year’s show was announcing the winner of the 2019 Mike O’Connell Trucking’s Top Rookie Award.
This year’s winner is Stevens Transport driver and Army veteran, Dwight Arnold. Though new to the business, the trucking industry has already made a significant impact in Arnold’s life.
[testimonial author=”Dwight Arnold”]Trucking has given me the opportunity to make a better home dynamic for me and my family. With me being able to be home more than when I was in the service, our family bond has deepened more now than ever before.
I already have my own small trucking business, so I’m hoping to start a fleet with four to five trucks. I also hope to build financial stability with my family, thanks to the financial success that I have had with trucking so far.[/testimonial]
As this year’s top prize winner, Arnold was awarded with $10,000 and a prize package worth more than $500.
The First Place Prize Package Included:

  • RoadKing Noise Cancelling Bluetooth Headset
  • LUMAGEAR Headlamp
  • PowerDrive 1000 Watt Bluetooth Pure Sine Wave Power Inverter
  • BlackCanyon 64 oz. Water Bottle
  • BlackCanyon Large Duffle Bag
  • MobileSpec Qi Wireless Charging Mount
  • RoadPro 12 Volt Soft Side Cooler
  • ClearDryve 200 Premium Noise-Canceling 2-in-1 Headphones
  • Deluxe Motor Carriers’ Road Atlas

In addition to the top prize, 10 other finalists received $1,000 and a prize package (RoadPro Family of Brands MobileSpec Qi Charger, and Rand McNally’s ClearDryve 200).
TheTop Rookie Award is presented by Truckers News with the support of the Commercial Vehicle Training Association, National Association Of Publicly Funded Truck Driving Schools, and Professional Truck Driver Institute.
Thank you so much to all those that supported the contest and made nominations. Stay tuned for details on the 2020 edition of the Mike O’Connell Trucking’s Top Rookie Award, which will be awarded to another outstanding rookie driver at next year’s Great American Trucking Show.